Minister Ambrose welcomes new Chair of the Mental Health Commission of Canada

OTTAWA, April 8, 2015 /CNW/ – It is with pleasure that I announce the Honourable Michael H. Wilson as the new Chair of the Mental Health Commission of Canada’s Board of Directors. His appointment to this important role is a testament to his exceptional skills and distinguished career in the private and public sectors, which includes serving as Ambassador of Canada to the United States and leading various federal ministries. Mr. Wilson is Vice-Chair of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research’s Governing Council and Chancellor of the University of Toronto. He is a Companion of the Order of Canada and has honorary degrees from the University of Toronto, York University, Trinity College at the University of Toronto and a Honorary Doctorate from the Royal Military College of Canada.

Mr. Wilson also brings a strong personal commitment to mental health issues and good governance. He established the Cameron Parker Holocombe Wilson Chair in Depression Studies at the University of Toronto and has been actively involved in organizations such as Brain Canada, the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, the Canadian Cancer Society, the Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships, and the Canadian Coalition for Good Governance.

I would like to personally thank Dr. David Goldbloom for his tremendous contribution and dedication to the Mental Health Commission of Canada since its inception – initially as Vice-Chair and since 2012 as Chair. Under his leadership, the Commission made significant progress in advancing mental health awareness and action, and cementing it as a meaningful national and international partner in efforts to improve the lives of people with mental illness and their families.

The Government of Canada created the Mental Health Commission of Canada to act as a catalyst for change in mental health, advancing the promotion of mental health and prevention of mental illness in Canada. I am confident we can count on Mr. Wilson’s strong leadership to support and deliver on this mandate.

I wish Mr. Wilson luck in his new position as Chair and look forward to working with him and our partners to tackle the next generation of challenges in the mental health field.

SOURCE Health Canada

For further information: Contact, Michael Bolkenius, Office of the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Federal Minister of Health, (613) 957-0200; Media Relations, Health Canada, (613) 957-2983

Recent News
Browse News